Videos by OutKick
The Toronto Blue Jays made an easily avoidable mistake that forced them to pull starting pitcher Alek Manoah much sooner than they would have liked.
There were quite a few new rules introduced at the start of the 2023 MLB season. Yeah, it’s May, but some of the rules are still sinking for some teams, and in this case, managers.
The Blue Jays were hosting Baltimore Orioles and in the sixth inning, Blue Jays pitching coach Pete Walker visited Manoah after he gave up a single with one out.
Walker returned to the dugout and Manoah proceeded to hit the next batter, Ryan Mountcastle, and then struck out Adam Frazier after that.
With Orioles second baseman Joey Ortiz coming to the plate with two outs and runners on first and second in a 2-2 game, Schneider trotted out to the mound to talk strategy.
The problem is, if a team makes two mound visits in an inning, they have to make a pitching change.
As the broadcasters mentioned in that clip, Schneider had no intent to pull Manoah. You can see him heading back to the dugout when he was told he’d need to make a change.
Someone in the Blue Jays dugout definitely should’ve picked up on this. It’s not like the first mound visit came in early in a marathon half-inning. It was just two batters earlier.
The Blue Hays went on to lose this one 6-5.
At least they can take something away from it though. I’m pretty sure they won’t make that mistake again anytime soon.
Follow on Twitter: @Matt_Reigle
5 CommentsLeave a Reply
Who’s cheating now? LMAO
I make $100h while I’m traveling the world. Last week I worked by my laptop in Rome, Monti Carlo and finally Paris…This week I’m back in the USA. All I do are easy tasks from this one cool site. check it out,
🙂 AND GOOD LUCK.:)
I don’t think that’s a new rule. Two official mound visits an inning from a coach (could be the manager, pitching coach, bench coach, whoever) and you have to take that pitcher out. As long as one of the visits wasn’t for an injury concern. I’m pretty sure that’s been the rule my entire life.
Pretty sure Sean is right here. It’s always been the rule.
I think you’re correct. The two mound visits rule isn’t exactly new. Then again, with all the actual new rules changes, it’s easy to get confused, especially when this is a mistake that you rarely see.