Say It Ain’t So: WWE Releases Nine Wrestlers, Including Samoa Joe

Videos by OutKick

Days after Wrestlemania 37, the WWE announced it has released nine of its wrestlers.

“WWE has come to terms on the release of Billie Kay, Mickie James, Chelsea Green, Tucker, Kalisto and Wesley Blake as of today,” the organization said in a Thursday news release. “We wish them the best in all of their future endeavors.”

A few hours later, the WWE announced three more wrestlers would be cut, including Mojo Rawley, Peyton Royce and Samoa Joe.

According to Fightful’s Sean Ross Sapp, WWE head of talent relations Joe Laurinaitis informed the nine wrestlers that budget cuts were responsible for their releases.

Wrestlemania 37 — the two-night event last weekend — was held in Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. The event sold out each night and was able to host 25,000 fans each show, the Tampa Bay Times reports.

Written by Megan Turner

Megan graduated from the University of Central Florida and writes and tweets about anything related to sports. She replies to comments she shouldn't reply to online and thinks the CFP Rankings are absolutely rigged. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply