Ole Miss Intercepts Aggies’ Run With 29-19 Victory

Videos by OutKick

No. 15 Ole Miss intercepted two passes from Texas A&M quarterback Zach Calzada in the fourth quarter to knock off the No. 11 Aggies, 29-19, Saturday night at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium in Oxford, Mississippi.

Defensive back A.J. Finley returned his interception 52 yards for a touchdown with 4:50 left for a 29-13 lead.

Ole Miss (8-2, 4-2 SEC) took a 22-13 lead with 6:32 to play on a 13-yard touchdown run by tailback Snoop Conner after Rebels’ linebacker Ashanti Cistrunk set up the score by intercepting Calzada at the Aggies’ 18-yard line and returning it four yards.

Texas A&M (7-3, 4-3) saw its four-game winning streak snapped. The Aggies drew within 29-19 with 3:11 to play on a 9-yard touchdown run by tailback Devon Achane.

The Aggies, trailing 15-0 at the half, did not get on the board until 10:30 remained in the third quarter on a 30-yard field goal by Seth Small.

The Aggies drew within 15-10 on a 24-yard touchown by Achane with 6:24 left in the third period. Small’s 43-yard field goal at the 10:19 mark of the fourth quarter cut Ole Miss’ lead to 15-13.

The Aggies found themselves down 15-0 in the second quarter after tailback Isaiah Spiller was caught in his own end zone for a safety with four minutes to go before halftime.

Ole Miss quarterback Matt Corral threw a 2-yard touchdown pass from to wide receiver Donatario Drummond for a 10-0 lead midway through the first quarter after Caden Costa booted a 33-yard field goal early in the first quarter.

Costa hit a 32-yard field goal with 9:34 to go in the second quarter for a 13-0 lead.

Written by Glenn Guilbeau

Guilbeau has been on the LSU beat since 1998 with multiple outlets in Louisiana, prior to that he had covered both Auburn and Alabama. He won first place for his game feature on LSU's upset at Florida last season from the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). He was also named Beat Writer of Year, by Louisiana Sports Writers Association in July; placed in three Associated Press Sports Editors (APSE) categories – Beat Writer, Explanatory, Game Coverage – last spring. Guilbeau was also the FWAA first-place winner for columns in 2017 and was also the top overall winner in 2016 FWAA placing first for his game story, second in columns, and receiving honorable mention for features.

Leave a Reply

to comment on this post. Not a VIP? Signup Here