Oklahoma And Texas Remain On Big 12 2022 Season Schedule

The Big 12 released its schedule for the 2022 regular season with Oklahoma and Texas still on it.

Both Oklahoma and Texas accepted invitations to join the SEC on July 30. Both schools said then they intend to stay in the Big 12 through June 30, 2025, but it wouldn't surprise anybody to see them attempt to leave earlier. If they leave before that summer day in 2025, the day the Big 12 media rights deal expires, both schools will be subject to a $75 to $80 million penalty.

In an interview with CBS Sports' Dennis Dodd in October, Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby said the move was silly for Oklahoma and Texas.

"Their chances are better coming through the Big 12," Bowlsby said. "That's a silly part of it. It's not very much money [difference], and competitively, they've got a better path . It makes no sense."

In the aftermath of the conference losing its two most profitable and prominent schools, the Big 12 pivoted quickly. On Sept. 10, the Big 12 announced the addition of four new members: BYU, Cincinnati, Houston and UCF. All four will officially become members no later than the 2024-25 season.

Looking ahead to next season, the Big 12 will play a nine-game, round robin format for the 12th consecutive season. Kansas and West Virginia will play in the league opener on Sept. 10. Oklahoma and Texas will play its annual Red River Showdown on Oct. 10 at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas. The full Big 12 schedule for the 2022 season can be seen below.

Follow Nick Geddes on Twitter @NickGeddesNews and on Instagram @nick.geddes.

Written by
Nick Geddes is a 2021 graduate of the University of Central Florida with a bachelor’s degree in Journalism. A life-long sports enthusiast, Nick shares a passion for sports writing and is proud to represent OutKick.