A Chance For Yet Another Upset Winner At The PGA Championship

Videos by OutKick

If there’s a golf tourney that has the best shot of producing a new face to be its champion every year, it’s the PGA Championship.

The tourney has taken a bit of a beat down at times for having first-time champs, but it’s also given those on the margins of professional golf an opportunity at a major level.

This year is no exception, as Kiawah Island will be an interesting site for the upcoming tourney.

Located in South Carolina, the island hosted the 2012 PGA Championship, won by Rory McIlroy, the 1991 Ryder Cup and two world championships and is known for its swirling winds and weather that can change on a dime.

Maybe that’s why so many ‘unknowns’ walk away with championships on the island – they go in knowing they have nothing to lose.

With that, there are plenty of players who will have an opportunity to take home the championship this year — or fall flat on their faces.

Here are the current top 10 odds for the upcoming championship:

Rory McIlroy 11-1
Justin Thomas 14-1
Jon Rahm 14-1
Jordan Spieth 16-1
Bryson DeChambeau 16-1
Dustin Johnson 18-1
Xander Schauffele 22-1
Viktor Hovland 25-1
Daniel Berger 30-1
Collin Morikawa 30-1

A couple notes on players as the tourney closes in: Rahm has never had a ‘major’ win, despite being third in the world rankings.

Viktor Hovland was solid in his last tourney play, going home with a third place finish at the Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow Club in early May. He might be ready to take the next step.

Bryson DeChambeau is looking to make a huge impact with his massive swing. “This golf course is a beast,” DeChambeau said. “Hopefully I can unleash the beast.”

There will be plenty of chances and opportunities for all players in South Carolina. We will see whether another unknown steps up and takes home a title by the time the championship is all said and done.

Written by Matt Loede

Matt has been a part of the Cleveland Sports landscape working in the media since 1994 when he graduated from broadcasting school. His coverage beats include the Cleveland Indians, Cleveland Browns and Cleveland Cavaliers. He's written three books, and won the "2020 AP Sports Stringer Lifetime Service Award."

Leave a Reply