Oklahoma Cheerleader Taylor Reimer Makes Her Midget Car Chili Bowl Debut Tonight

Oklahoma Sooners junior cheerleader Taylor Reimer will strap in tonight and unleash her midget car around the 1/4 mile track of dirt inside the Tulsa Expo Center during the Circle City Raceway Qualifying Night festivities at the world-famous Chili Bowl.

Reimer will be amongst racing industry royalty. NASCAR has entries from the likes of Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson, Ryan Newman, J.J. Yeley, Chase Briscoe, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Christopher Bell.

Racing since she was nine, Reimer isn’t some charity case behind the wheel. “I won a track championship, and we switched to dirt and started running micro sprints. I got a second place finish at the shootout, and I am the winningest female at Port City (Raceway),” told the Tulsa World about her roots.

Reimer ended up at Oklahoma as a cheerleader, and she stopped racing until last summer when a local car owner gave her seat time and asked if she wanted to race in the Chili Bowl. Now here she is, in the granddaddy of all midget races.

Car owner David McIntosh seems fired up to see what his new driver can do against the big boys.

“She’s really good in practice right now,” McIntosh told AutoWeek. “As far as being smooth and technical, she has all the tools and she fired back where she left off.

“She dominated in her younger years, but we didn’t know what she had after taking so much time off. But she’s doing all the right things and is taking it seriously.”

Here’s the Chili Bowl format that Reimer will face tonight at 5 CT when the green flag drops:

Heat Races
* Drivers draw for heat racing starting position at 2 p.m. at chalkboard each day
* The driver who draws lowest number will start on the pole of Heat 1, second lowest number on the pole of Heat 2, etc.
* Number of heats decided by number of cars – 7-10 cars per heat race (8 Laps)
* Advancement from heat race to features is based upon passing points earned in heat race and qualifying races. Passing points are based upon car starting position when the yellow light goes out prior to the initial start of the heat or qualifying race.

C Mains/Qualifying Races/B Mains/A Main

  • The 40 drivers earning the most passing points advance to Four “A” Qualifying Races; drivers in passing points positions 41-68 will go to two C Main races. The two C Main races will have 16 cars 12 laps in length.
  • The top four cars in each C Main race will advance to the back of the B Main races, going 15 laps. (Top four from first C Main to back of first B Main, top four from second C Main to back of second B main)
  • The lineup of each “A” Qualifying race will include an inversion of six cars. The top 24 cars in passing points will make the inversion. (The top point driver will start on row 3 of the first qualifying race, the No. 2 driver on row 3 of the second qualifying race, etc.)
  • The four qualifying races will have 10 cars each with the top 16 in combined passing points from the heats and Qualifying races advancing to the A Main.
  • The balance of the cars (24) from the “A” qualifying races will advance to two 16 car B Mains. The top four in each B Main will advance to the A Main, going 30 laps.
  • There will be 24 drivers in each Preliminary Night A Feature
  • The top two drivers in the Preliminary A qualify for Saturday’s A Main.
via ABC-8

Written by Joe Kinsey

I'm an Ohio guy, born in Dayton, who roots for Ohio State and can handle you guys destroying the Buckeyes, Urban Meyer and everything associated with Columbus.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply