Just when you think Sports 2020 can’t possibly get any crazier, along comes Novak Djokovic, the world No. 1 and top men’s seed at the U.S. Open.
Djokovic was defaulted in the first set of his match against Pablo Carrena Busta for (probably accidentally) drilling a ball at a line judge:
This unfortunate move ends Djokovic’s attempt for an 18th major victory — which he was a heavy favorite to attain — and sends the men’s bracket into disarray. No word yet on the condition of the linesperson.
Here’s the United States Tennis Association’s official word on the incident: