Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh Named AP Coach of the Year

Videos by OutKick

Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh was named The Associated Press college football Coach of the Year on Friday, becoming the first Wolverines coach to earn the award.

The 57-year-old was named AP coach of the year after leading the Wolverines to their first Big Ten title in 17 years and a berth in the College Football Playoff. He is also the first Big Ten coach to win it since Joe Paterno in 2005.

“It’s a tremendous reflection on the entire staff, players,” Harbaugh told AP. “Everybody shares in it. A rising tide lifts all ships.”

Harbaugh received 22 of 53 first-place votes and 103 total points, beating out Cincinnati’s Luke Fickell, who collected 16 first-place votes and 88 points.

The Wolverines will face the Georgia Bulldogs in a College Football Playoff semifinal on Dec. 31.

Follow Meg Turner on Twitter @Megnturner_ and Instagram @Megnturner.

Signup for OutKick VIP by clicking here, and keep up with all OutKick’s latest betting info by clicking here and following OutKick Bets on Twitter.

New FanDuel Sportsbook users can make their first bet risk-free up to $1,000. If the bet loses, the FanDuel Sportsbook will refund you in site credit. New users can lock in this offer NOW by clicking this link.

Written by Megan Turner

Megan graduated from the University of Central Florida and writes and tweets about anything related to sports. She replies to comments she shouldn't reply to online and thinks the CFP Rankings are absolutely rigged. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply