‘Johnny Football’ Is Back; Manziel Inks Deal With New Fan Controlled Football League

If you have been anxiously waiting the next move of former Cleveland Browns first-round pick Johnny Manziel, than today is your lucky day.

Manziel has inked a deal to return to football, playing in something called the “Fan Controlled Football league,” according to TMZ.

The 28-year-old quarterback has bounced around the game since being bounced out of the NFL. The Browns released him after the 2015 season, and no other team took a flier on him.

The new league is set to debut on Feb 13, and a spokesperson confirmed that Manziel will be a part of the league, playing when the league kicks off.

TMZ reports that Manziel has been in talks with the league for awhile, and it sounds like he will line up as the starting quarterback for the Zappers, a team co-owned by Mets pitcher Trevor May and sportscaster Bob Menery.

Manziel has played in just about every league that exists when it comes to “pro football.” He was out of the game for two years after he was released by the Browns. He then played in the CFL for the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in 2018 before he was dealt to the Montreal Alouettes.

After Montreal released him, he was barred from playing in the CFL for violating terms of his contract.

“Johnny Football” was playing for the Memphis Express last season in the now defunct Alliance of American Football.

“Football has always been a huge part of my life, and the opportunity to join the FCF was too good to pass up,” Manziel said.

What exactly is the Fan Controlled Football league?

The league is advertised as 7-on-7 full-contact football where fans call the shots, calling plays, logos as well as what the uniforms look like.

All the games will take place in Atlanta.

Written by Matt Loede

Matt has been a part of the Cleveland Sports landscape working in the media since 1994 when he graduated from broadcasting school. His coverage beats include the Cleveland Indians, Cleveland Browns and Cleveland Cavaliers. He's written three books, and won the "2020 AP Sports Stringer Lifetime Service Award."


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply