Hoosier Madness: Indiana To Host Entire NCAA Tournament

Videos by OutKick

This year, March Madness belongs solely to the state of Indiana.

The NCAA announced Monday that the entire annual college basketball tournament will be held in multiple venues throughout the Hoosier state, with a majority of the 67 games slated for Indianapolis.

Per the NCAA, the host sites for the 2021 tournament will be as follows:
— Lucas Oil Stadium
— Bankers Life Fieldhouse
— Hinkle Fieldhouse
— Indiana Farmers Coliseum
— Mackey Arena in West Lafayette
— Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall

While there are two courts at Lucas Oil Stadium, only one game will take place at a time. The Indiana Convention Center will be used as a practice facility.

Coaches and player reacted to the news Monday.

“I really don’t care if they play the [NCAA] Tournament on Saturn,” Louisville coach Chris Mack told reporters. “Hopefully, we’re a part of it and we do our part to get there.”

It is yet to be determined whether fans will be allowed to attend. A limited number of family members of each team’s players and coaches can attend, but beyond that, the NCAA said it is “closely monitoring the ongoing pandemic and will continue to work with local officials to determine the feasibility” of fans at each venue. Details will be finalized before the tournament.

CBS Sports and Turner Sports will broadcast all 67 games across CBS, TBS, TNT and truTV.

The always-popular Selection Sunday is slated for March 14, with the Final Four to take place April 3-5.

Written by Sam Amico

Sam Amico spent 15 years covering the NBA for Sports Illustrated, FOX Sports and NBA.com, along with a few other spots, and currently runs his own basketball website on the side, FortyEightMinutes.com.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply