Videos by OutKick
We all have a different way of looking at things, but those differing views can sometimes create a stir on social media. And no, I’m not talking about politics. I’m talking about what happened during the opening round of the Masters on Thursday.
Abraham Ancer was assessed a two-stroke penalty for grazing the sand in his backswing on Hole 15. He then took to Twitter to share a video of the penalty, and people’s opinions are all over the place on it.
I was just informed that I have been assessed a 2 stroke penalty for unintentionally grazing the sand in my backswing on hole 15. While I’m gutted, I can’t wait to get after it tomorrow. pic.twitter.com/5ZOlthQzeE
— Abraham Ancer (@Abraham_Ancer) April 9, 2021
First, there was the “this is ridiculous” crowd. And let’s be honest, this is the side with the majority of people.
This is brutal. Shame on the person who found this penalty. Just searching for a foul https://t.co/TdQSHYIYEq
— Geoff Schwartz (@geoffschwartz) April 9, 2021
This is so ridiculous. No intent and no advantage was gained. Meanwhile Patrick Reed picks up his golf ball whenever he hates his lie https://t.co/apEvZ8SKeB
— Peter Holland (@PeterHolland13) April 9, 2021
Who calls this in? https://t.co/l54sbKru0I
— Paul Bissonnette (@BizNasty2point0) April 9, 2021
This is stupid https://t.co/t7Ni21PZBX
— Celia Palermo (@CeliaPalermo) April 9, 2021
This is complete bullshit https://t.co/m2Ypz3XAnu
— People (@_JC3) April 9, 2021
No way this is to the naked eye live. No way. Bull https://t.co/9gKuWfq5kM
— Coach Thom (@RobdotThom) April 9, 2021
If you’re playing at home or in some random weekend tournament, and someone calls this on you, chase them down with whatever club is in your hand https://t.co/wrJdNBpiwg
— Brian Floyd (@BrianMFloyd) April 9, 2021
Lol.. golf is STRICT https://t.co/PWTtVdE6wg
— Pat McAfee (@PatMcAfeeShow) April 9, 2021
this is some nerd shit and the person who called this in should be arrested for felony nerddom
— Tyler Conway (@jtylerconway) April 9, 2021
Then there’s the “you cheated, rules are rules” crowd. Far less popular, but they’re sticking together.
That was not a backswing. The club head was used to pat the sand down imo.
— Rio Rico 🤔⛳🏌️♂️⚽️ (@Rio_RicoTx) April 9, 2021
You pressed the sand down prior to your backswing so it wouldn’t get between the club and the ball. You knew it. You got caught. Own it.
— Mike Curran 🍀 (@Cruthers19) April 9, 2021
Before shot the club appears to flatten small bit of sand. Would be confirmed on replay. Rules are rules.
— Go Dawgs (@4567qwerty) April 9, 2021
How do you not see it at the end. Look at the sand before his last waggle and after. pic.twitter.com/VyT7gZEfuU
— Terry Banet (@tebsf) April 9, 2021
It wasn’t on your backswing. On your last pre-swing up and down motion with the club you flattened the little pile of sand directly behind your ball. I’ll believe you if you say it was unintentional but intentional or not, that’s a penalty.
— The Crust Station (@CrustyMcD) April 9, 2021
Clear as day j— can’t touch the sand when in the trap brother!
— Harrison Silverstein (@hsilvs15) April 9, 2021
To the naked eye you can clearly see the sand change shape and flatten. Easy call…rules are rules. Can’t blame ignorance knowing cameras are absolutely everywhere.
— drsteg458 (@drsteg458) April 9, 2021
And finally, there are the people such as Jared Keaton who aren’t getting involved in the back-and-forth. Instead, they’re bringing up the real controversy here.
We can’t get actual TV coverage until 3:00pm but there’s super zoom HD penalty cameras 👌
— Jared Keaton (@JaredKeaton3) April 9, 2021
Imagine being one of those people who doesn’t love The Masters. This is amazing content.
Ancer went from being 1-over and tied for No. 20 to 3-over and tied for No. 52 after the penalty, a sizable change in his board position. That’s a brutal way to start the weekend, but hopefully he can bounce back in Round 2.
If not, we riot … or we don’t. Either way.
Follow Clint Lamb on Twitter @ClintRLamb.