Bama Puts Three on A.P. All-America Team — Bryce Young, Will Anderson Jr. and Jameson Williams; SEC Has 9

Videos by OutKick

No. 1 Alabama led the nation with three players being named to the first unit of the Associated Press All-America team released on Monday.

Quarterback Bryce Young, who won the Heisman Trophy Saturday night, outside linebacker Will Anderson Jr., who finished fifth in the Heisman voting, and wide receiver Jameson Williams were named to the first team.

Georgia was one of four schools with two first team selections as it had defensive tackle Jordan Davis and linebacker Nakobe Dean. Michigan’s two were defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, who was also the Heisman runner-up, and kicker Jake Moody. Oregon had two first team selections — safety Verone McKinley III and edge rusher Kayvon Thiboeaux. And Texas A&M had two in guard Kenyon Green and defensive lineman DeMarvin Leal.

The SEC led the nation with nine first team selections. In addition to the above seven, the other two were offensive tackle Darian Kinnard of Kentucky and cornerback Roger McCreary of Auburn.

Second team SEC selections were tailback Tyler Badie of Missouri, offensive tackle Evan Neal of Alabama and tight end Brock Bowers and defensive lineman Devonte Wyatt of Georgia. Third team SEC selections were center Michael Maiettie of Missouri, edge rusher Sam Williams of Ole Miss, safety Jordan Battle of Alabama and safety Lewis Cine of Georgia.

Written by Glenn Guilbeau

Guilbeau has been on the LSU beat since 1998 with multiple outlets in Louisiana, prior to that he had covered both Auburn and Alabama. He won first place for his game feature on LSU's upset at Florida last season from the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). He was also named Beat Writer of Year, by Louisiana Sports Writers Association in July; placed in three Associated Press Sports Editors (APSE) categories – Beat Writer, Explanatory, Game Coverage – last spring. Guilbeau was also the FWAA first-place winner for columns in 2017 and was also the top overall winner in 2016 FWAA placing first for his game story, second in columns, and receiving honorable mention for features.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

to comment on this post. Not a VIP? Signup Here