in

Tennis Player Quits Mid-Match After Questionable Call

When you don’t like a call, well, why keep playing?

That seemed to be the question asked by tennis player Damir Dzumhur during the qualifying round of the ATP 500 in Acapulco. Dzumhur answered by quitting in the middle of a match after a call went against him.

Yes, in the middle of a match — or right after a forehand from opponent Botic van de Zandschulp was called in by the line judge. Dzumhur believed it was anything but in, and promptly walked away with the match at 5-5, 40-40 in the opening set.

Dzumhur gave a look of disbelief before dropping his racquet and approaching the chair umpire for an overrule. But to no avail.

“The call seemed to have infuriated Dzumhur as he continued remonstrating with the chair umpire during the change of ends and received a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct,” Reuters reported.

Dzumhur did return briefly, winning the first point on his opponent’s serve. But he again said something to the umpire, earning Dzumhur a point penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct.

After that, Dzumhur walked off the court, slammed his racquet in his bag and gave Van de Zandschulp a fist bump. The match, it became clear, was over.

The ATP has not yet commented on Dzumhur’s decision to quit mid-match.

Written by Sam Amico

Sam Amico is the assistant managing editor-newsdesk at OutKick. He is also the co-founder and senior writer at Hoopswire.com, and has covered the NBA for nearly 20 years, including his time at Sports Illustrated, FOX Sports and CBS Sports. A native of Akron, Ohio, his writing career began in Wyoming.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

to comment on this post. Not a VIP? Signup Here